- Single Family
- 2 Beds
- 1 Bath
- 588 SqFt
- 0 Bed
- 0 Bath
- 0 SqFt
Don't Have an Account? Sign Up to Save Favorite Listings, Save Searches & More...
Hedley is small town located between Princeton and Keremeos. Nestled in a cozy corner of Nickel Plate Mountain, Hedley has a population of approximately 200 people, though at its peak in the early 1900’s the town boasted over 1000 residents. This old-timey town has much to offer despite its size, with a convenience store, local museum, library and coffee shop. The community club also puts on a weekly farmer’s market, Stamp Mill Day and the annual Meadowlark Nature Festival, as well as several smaller events for all ages throughout the year.
With the wide mountainous expanse surrounding Hedley, and the Similkameen River right nearby, Hedley is in the middle of one of the most beautiful area’s of the Similkameen Valley. There are several hiking trails surrounding the area, with many that start just by taking a walk down one of the dozens of old mining or logging roads. Some are only accessible with an ATV or off-road vehicle, giving residents an exciting new place to explore every weekend.
In 1898, prospectors Wollaston and Arundel struck gold within Nickel Plate Mountain. In 1902, the Daly Reduction Company chose Twenty Mile Creek as the basis for the development for their new mining base, and the framework for the subsequent townsite. Within the next year the miners were digging 120 kilometres into the tunnel, with a fully working tramway and 40 stamp mill. Water supply was an early problem, but with freshly milled wood and the inventive minds of a few individuals they were able to construct a 7000 foot long flume to convey the water from Nickel Plate Lake and emptied into Twenty Mile Creek.
Unfortunately, around 1929 the mine shut down after 20 miles of diamond drilling had resulted in no new ore. The owner, Duncan Woods, sold the mine to Hedley Mascot Gold Mines. With additional new claims, the new owners once again found success. Their good fortune continued for over 20 years when in 1949 the mine was officially cleaned out, forcing the miners to work their last shift on September 23, 1955.
The trademarks MLS®, Multiple Listing Service®, and the associated logos are owned by The Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA) and identify the quality of services provided by real estate professionals who are members of CREA. REALTOR®. Member of CREA and more.Last Updated September 19th, 2021 at 1:01pm PDT